Santa Clara DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI, marijuana DUI, or drug DUI, you should immediately contact a Santa Clara DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to defend you. Our DUI attorneys have the experience and knowledge to achieve the best possible results for you. Our law firm handles both misdemeanor and felony DUI cases, so whichever type of DUI you’re accused of, the DUI lawyers at The H Law Group have you covered.
If you have been charged with a DUI, you should not take such charges lightly as even a first offense DUI carries a maximum jail sentence of up to six months in county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, the completion of a DUI education program, as well as being placed on probation for three to five years. So, if you have been charged with a DUI, you should promptly contact a Santa Clara DUI Attorney to defend you and keep you out of jail. Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.
Santa Clara DUI Law CVC Sections 23152(a) & 23152(b)
Typically, DUI charges are brought against an individual under California Vehicle Code Section 23152. CVC Section 23152 makes it a crime for an individual to drive a motor vehicle while he is under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, or drugs. Individuals who violate this law by intoxicated driving are prosecuted harshly to ensure that they do not commit this crime a second time. The consequences of being convicted with a DUI are numerous. Consequences include being sent to jail for a maximum of 6 months, suspension of an individual’s driver’s license, participation in a DUI education program, payment of court fees and fines, as well as being ordered to complete three to five years of informal probation.
From the DMV side, two (2) points will be added to your DMV record, so if you get an additional two points added to your record, your license will be suspended. Additionally, the placement of these points on your driving record will result in a dramatic increase in the cost of your auto insurance because auto insurance companies will view you as a high-risk driver. So, if you have been charged with or arrested for drunk driving, you should immediately contact a Santa Clara DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from losing your license and going to jail.
Additionally, if you have been charged with a DUI, you may have noticed that you have also been charged with violating CVC Section 23152(b), which makes it a crime for an individual to drive a car with a blood alcohol (BAC) level of 0.08% or more. If convicted of violating this section, an individual faces the same consequences as if he were convicted of a DUI. So, if you have been charged with violating this section, you should promptly contact a DUI attorney to defend you.
Santa Clara DUI License Suspension
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Santa Clara, California, you should be aware that the DMV will suspend your driver’s license with thirty (30) days of your arrest for a DUI unless you schedule your DMV hearing within ten (10) days of your arrest. To keep your license, not only must you schedule your DMV hearing, you must win at your hearing. If you do not have experience handling this hearing, you should hire an experienced attorney to represent you at this hearing.
If you fail to schedule the DMV hearing with ten (10) days of your arrest, your license will automatically be suspended within thirty days of your arrest for a DUI. To stop the automatic suspension, you must schedule and win your DMV hearing. For first time DUI offenders, your license will be suspended for four months, however, if you refused to perform chemical testing after being taken to the police station or the hospital, your license will be suspended for one year. So, if you have been arrested for drunk driving or driving under the influence of marijuana or drugs, you should immediately contact a Santa Clara DUI Lawyer to defend you, help keep you out of jail, and help keep your driver’s license even if it’s just for you to commute to and from work/school.
How Do People Get Charged with a DUI in Santa Clara, California?
People often get charged with a DUI in Santa Clara after they’ve been stopped for a simple traffic infraction, such as speeding, running a red light, running a stop sign, or driving with a broken tail light. After being stopped, police officers typically use the stop to investigate other crimes, including drunk driving or driving under the influence of marijuana or other drugs. If the officer observes signs of intoxication, such as slurred speech, bloodshot eyes, or erratic driving, he may ask you to perform roadside sobriety tests. You are not required, nor should you perform these tests because they will only be used against you by the prosecution. Once stopped, you are only required to provide the police officer with proof of auto insurance, registration, and identification card. You should not make any statements to the police because even seemingly minor statements will be used against you. So, if you have been charged with a DUI, contact a criminal defense attorney at The H Law Group to represent you and hopefully keep you out of jail.
Contact an Experienced Santa Clara DUI Attorney
If you have been charged with a DUI, you should promptly contact a Santa Clara DUI Attorney to defend you both in your criminal proceedings by the courts and the DMV hearing. You should not take DUI charges lightly as they carry far-reaching consequences that can impact your future for some time. For the best possible defense, you should promptly contact one of the DUI defense lawyers at The H Law Group to begin working on your case. The earlier your attorney begins working, the better the defense strategy he can put in place to defend you both at criminal hearings and the DMV hearing. Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.