San Diego DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in San Diego or elsewhere in the State of California, you should contact a San Diego DUI Attorney to defend you. The H Law Group’s has a team of experienced DUI attorneys who will assist you through every step of the DUI process. Also, they have the knowledge and experience to achieve the best possible results for you. First, our attorneys will examine your case to see if a dismissal is possible. If a dismissal is not possible, our DUI lawyers will do all that they can to negotiate the best possible plea deal for you. You should not take a DUI charge lightly as it can result in the suspension of your driver’s license, a maximum jail sentence of up to six months, as well as a $1,000 fine. So, if you’ve been charged with drunk driving or driving under the influence of marijuana or drugs, schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.
DUI Laws in San Diego, California
In San Diego, California Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 23152 makes it illegal for an individual to operate an automobile while the individual is under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. So, if you’ve been arrested for violating 23152 VC, the prosecution will bring DUI charges against you. If keeping your driver’s license is essential to you should immediately contact a San Diego DUI attorney to represent you. The first thing your DUI lawyer will do is to schedule your DMV hearing. If an individual does not schedule a DMV hearing within ten days of being arrested for a DUI, his license will be suspended. As such, your DUI attorney will schedule your DMV hearing and will defend you at the hearing. Our attorneys have a great success rate when it comes to winning DMV hearings and enabling their clients to keep their driver’s licenses.
Drunk Driving Charges
If you’ve been charged with drunk driving or driving under the influence of marijuana or drugs, you’re not alone. California is one of the strictest states when it comes to enforcing its drunk driving laws. For the prosecution to prove than an individual is guilty of driving under the influence, they will introduce evidence, such as the police officer’s observations of things, such as the defendant’s bloodshot eyes, the odor of alcohol, and the results of chemical testing and field sobriety tests. Your DUI Attorney in San Diego will challenge the evidence introduced by the prosecution to attempt to have the charges against you dismissed or to negotiate a favorable plea deal for you.
Also, if you made any statements to the police officer, even seemingly innocent ones, will be used against you by the prosecution. So, if you’re ever stopped for a subsequent DUI, you should not make any statements because the prosecution will use them against you. Even if you believe that your statements are innocent, don’t make them. You’re only required to provide an officer with your name, identification, auto insurance, and auto registration. You are not required to give the police officer with any more information.
Penalties for DUI Conviction
If the prosecution is successful in convicting you of a DUI, you should know that you face the following consequences:
- A maximum jail sentence of six (6) months
- A fine of up to $1,000
- Six (6) month license suspension
- Three to five years of probation
- Enrollment and completion of a DUI program
- Possible installation of an ignition interlock device
- Addition of 2 points to your driving record
How Does a DUI Arrest Occur in San Diego, CA?
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in San Diego, a police officer may have stopped you for committing a small traffic infraction, such as speeding, running a red light, or driving with a broken tail light. After stopping a vehicle, an officer uses the stop to investigate other crimes, mainly driving under the influence. If the officer observed signs of intoxication, such as bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, and the odor of alcohol and/or marijuana, if the officer suspects that you’ve been drinking alcohol or taking drugs, he may ask you to complete a variety of field sobriety tests. If you perform poorly, he may ask you to take a breathalyzer. You are not required to take a roadside breathalyzer, but if you’re arrested, you must take the breathalyzer test at the police station. At this point, if the officer has enough suspicion to arrest you, he will do so. So, if you’ve been arrested for a DUI, please contact a San Diego DUI attorney at The H Law Group to represent you. Our DUI attorneys have the knowledge and experience to achieve the best results for you.
San Diego DUI Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI, you should promptly contact a San Diego DUI Lawyer to assist you with your DMV hearing, as well as the criminal proceedings against you. The DUI lawyers at The H Law Group have represented countless individuals charged with DUIs and drunk driving in San Diego, so they know how to best represent you. Don’t forget that to keep your license, you must schedule and win your DMV hearing within ten days of your arrest, so if you’ve been arrested for a DUI, don’t wait, schedule your free consultation at The H Law Group by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.