Orange County DUI Attorney

If you or a loved one has been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, and/or drugs, you should immediately contact an experienced Orange County DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license for a long period of time. Our DUI attorneys have defended thousands of clients over the past decade, and we have been able to achieve excellent results in most cases.

We have the knowledge and experience necessary to achieve the best possible results for you. You should not DUI charges lightly because even a first-time misdemeanor DUI can land you in a county jail for up to six months, as well as result in the loss of your driver’s license. So, if you have been charged with a DUI anywhere in Orange County, contact the best Orange County DUI Lawyer at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going jail. Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol in Violation of California Vehicle Code 23152(a)

Vehicle Code 23152(a) VC makes it a crime for a person to drive a vehicle while he is under the influence of alcohol. A person who violates this criminal statute is guilty of a misdemeanor offense. For the prosecution to convict a person of an alcohol DUI, the prosecution must prove that the defendant drove a vehicle, and he did so while he was under the influence of alcohol.

To prove that a person was under the influence of alcohol, the prosecution must show that the defendant’s ability to operate a motor vehicle was impaired to the extent that he would not be able to drive as good as a person who had not consumed alcohol prior to driving.

A person who is charged with a first, second, or third offense DUI is usually charged with a misdemeanor DUI offense. However, the fourth and subsequent offenses within 10 years are charged as a felony.

If the prosecution convicts a person of a DUI charge in Orange County, California, the person faces the following potential consequences:

First Offense DUI

  • Conviction of a misdemeanor offense
  • Up to six months of imprisonment in county jail
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • A six-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • Completion of a 3 to 9-month DUI education program
  • Placement on summary probation for three to five years

Second Offense DUI

  • Conviction of a misdemeanor offense
  • Up to 12 months imprisonment in county jail (5 days minimum in jail)
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • 12-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • Completion of an 18 to 30-month DUI education program
  • Placement on summary probation for three to five years

Third Offense DUI

  • Conviction of a misdemeanor offense
  • 120 days to 365 days in jail
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • 24-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • 30-month DUI education program
  • Placement on summary probation for three to five years

Fourth & Subsequent DUI Offenses

  • Conviction of a felony offense
  • 16 months, 24 months, or 36 months in California State Prison
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • 5-year suspension of your driver’s license
  • 18 or 30-month DUI education program
  • Placement on felony formal probation

First Offense DUI Resulting in Injury

  • Conviction of a felony offense
  • 16 months to 16 years in California State Prison
  • A fine that ranges from $1015 to $5000
  • Payment of restitution to the victim(s)
  • One-year driver’s license suspension
  • Completion of an 18 or 30-month alcohol education program
  • Placement on formal felony probation

Note: DUIs are a prior-able offense, meaning that the punishment becomes more serious after every subsequent offense. California has a 10-year lookback period, where the prosecution looks at how many DUIs you’ve been convicted of in the past 10 years.

Whether you’re being charged with your first DUI or your fourth DUI, you should promptly contact an experienced Orange County DUI Attorney to represent you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license for a long period of time.

Suspension of Your Driver’s License

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Orange County, you may have noticed that the arresting officer confiscated your driver’s license and gave you a temporary pink license.

You should know that the pink license is good for 30 days from the date of your arrest. After the 30-day period, your license will be suspended pending the outcome of your case. The only way to keep your license past the 30-day period is to schedule a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest and to win the DMV hearing.

If you either fail to schedule the DMV hearing within the 10-day period or you lose at the hearing, your driver’s license will be suspended pending the outcome of the criminal case against you.

If you win at court or the prosecutor dismisses the charges, your license will be reinstated. However, if you lose in court, your driver’s license will remain suspended for the period prescribed under the law (6 months for first-time offenders).

If you have been arrested for a DUI, you should promptly contact an experienced Orange County DUI Attorney at The H Law Group immediately after you have been arrested. Contacting an attorney as quickly as possible is important so that we can assist you with schedule your DMV hearing, as well as representation at the hearing. So, don’t hesitate to contact us to schedule your free consultation.

Orange County DUI Arrest

DUI arrests in Orange County usually start off when a police officer pulls over a person for violating a minor traffic law, such as changing lanes without signaling, driving with a broken tail light, or speeding. Regardless of why the police officer pulled you over, he will often use the stop to look for criminal activity, such as drunk driving.

If the police officer observes things, such as bloodshot eyes, the odor of alcohol or marijuana, slurred speech, or other indicators that you’re under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, and/or drugs, he will likely request that you step out of your vehicle and perform roadside sobriety tests. If you perform poorly on the tests, he may ask you to perform a roadside breathalyzer test.

You should know that you’re not required to perform roadside sobriety tests, nor are you required to perform a roadside breathalyzer test. However, if the police officer arrests you and takes you to the police station or hospital, and asks you to perform chemical testing, you are required to comply and perform the required testing.

If you refuse to perform chemical testing at the station or hospital, your refusal will be used against you by both the prosecution and the DMV to impose a harsher punishment.

So, if you have been charged with a DUI in Orange County, you should immediately contact an experienced Orange County DUI Lawyer at The H Law Group to defend you and mitigate the potential consequences that you face. Our attorneys have handled thousands of cases, so they have experienced and they’ll use that experience to defend you in court and at the DMV.

Driving with a Blood Alcohol Level of 0.08% or More in Violation of California Vehicle Code 23152(b) VC

In addition to bringing DUI charges, prosecutors in Orange County, California often charge the defendant with driving with a blood alcohol (BAC) level of 0.08% or more. It is easier for the prosecution to convict a person of driving with a BAC level of 0.08% or more because the prosecution does not need to prove that the defendant was under the influence of alcohol. It only needs to show that the defendant had a 0.08% BAC and that’s all that’s need to convict him.

The consequences for violating VC 23152(b) are the same as the consequences for driving under the influence in violation of VC 23152(a). If you performed a breathalyzer and you blew a 0.08% or more, it’s easy for the prosecution to convict you of a DUI. In such a case, your best bet is to hire an experienced Orange County DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to represent you and use their knowledge and skills to negotiate the best possible plea deal for you.

Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in Violation of California Vehicle Code 23152(f)

Vehicle Code Section 23152(f) VC makes it a crime for a person to drive while under the influence of drugs. Many of our clients believe that driving under the influence of prescription drugs is okay. However, the truth is that the law does not distinguish between prescription, nonprescription, and illegal drugs.

Any person who drives under the influence of any type of drug can be convicted of a Drug DUI in violation of VC 23152(f). So, whether you’re driving under the influence of prescription painkillers, such as Vicodin or codeine, or sleeping pills, such as Ambien, you can be charged with and convicted of driving under the influence of drugs.

For the prosecution to convict a person of driving under the influence of drugs, the prosecution must prove that the defendant drove a vehicle, the defendant did so while taking prescription or nonprescription drugs, and the defendant’s ability to drive was impaired.

If a person is convicted of a drug DUI (DUID), he faces up to six months in jail for a first-time offense, suspension of his driver’s license for up to six months, completion of a DUI education program, as well as a fine of up to $1000.

So, if you have been charged with a DUID, you should immediately contact an experienced Orange County DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license.

Contact an Experienced Orange County DUI Attorney

If you or a loved one has been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, and/or drugs, you should immediately contact an experienced Orange County DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to defend you. Our attorneys have successfully represented thousands of clients who have been charged with DUIs, so we have the knowledge and experience to achieve the best possible results for you. Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.

Charged with a Crime?


Act now to protect your legal rights.

Charged with a Crime?


Act now to protect your legal rights.