Los Angeles DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in Los Angeles or elsewhere in the State of California, you should immediately contact a Los Angeles DUI Attorney to defend you and fight for you to keep you out of jail. You should not take DUI charges in California lightly as even a first time DUI offense carries jail time of up to six months, a fine of up to $1,000, probation for three years, and the completion of a DUI education program.
So, if you have been charged with a DUI, you should promptly contact a DUI attorney so that he can keep you out of jail and keep you from losing your driver’s license. At the beginning, our DUI attorneys will examine your case to determine whether the charges against you can be dismissed, if they determine that your case cannot be dismissed, they will do all that they can to negotiate the best plea deal possible. Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.
Los Angeles DUI Under California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a) and 23152(b)
CVC Section 23152(a) makes it illegal for an individual to drive a motor vehicle while he or she is intoxicated or under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, or drugs. An individual who violates this law and is caught will be prosecuted for a DUI. Also, if you have been charged with a DUI that involves alcohol, you may have noticed that you were also charged with violating CVC 23152(b) that makes it illegal to drive with a blood alcohol (BAC) 0.08% or more.
Regardless of which section you’re charged with, the consequences are the same. So, if you have been charged with violating either of these laws, you should promptly contact a DUI attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license.
Suspension of Your Driver’s License
If you have been arrested for a DUI, marijuana DUI, drug DUI, or drunk driving, you may have noticed that the arresting officer confiscated your driver’s license and gave you a temporary pink license. The pink license is good for thirty days from the date of your arrest. That said, to keep your driving privileges, you must schedule your DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest, and you must win at this hearing. If you don’t schedule your hearing within the ten day period of you lose this hearing, your license will be suspended pending the outcome of your criminal case.
So, to avoid losing your license, hire a DUI attorney, and have them schedule your hearing and represent you at the hearing. Not only will a Los Angeles DUI Attorney at The H Law Group represent you at your DMV hearing, he will also represent you at your criminal proceedings. Because you have two things to worry about as someone who has been charged with a DUI in Los Angeles, California: the DMV hearing and criminal proceedings initiated by the courts.
Penalties for Being Convicted of a Los Angeles DUI
An individual who is convicted of a DUI in Los Angeles faces the following consequences:
- A maximum of six months in county jail
- A fine of up to $1,000
- License suspension of up to six (6) months
- Being placed on probation for three (3) to five (5) years
- Enrollment and completion of a DUI education program
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
How a Person is Arrested for a DUI in Los Angeles
People who are arrested for a DUI in Los Angeles, California are usually arrested after an officer pulls them over for violating a traffic law, such as speeding, running a red light, changing lanes without signaling, or driving with a broken tail light. Regardless of the reason for the traffic stop, police officers often use the stop as a pretext to investigate other crimes, such as drunk driving or driving under the influence of marijuana and/or drugs. During the stop, if the officer notices things, such as the odor of alcohol or marijuana, bloodshot eyes, or slurred speech, he may ask the individual to step out of the vehicle and perform a number of field sobriety tests.
You should know that you are not required to perform these, and you should not perform them. You should not perform them because if you do bad on them, they will be used against you by the prosecution. Since you’re not required to participate in them, don’t so they’re not used against you. The same goes for a breathalyzer. You are not required to complete a breathalyzer test on the side of the road. However, if a police officer arrests you and takes you to the police station or to a hospital, you are required to perform chemical testing at these locations, but not on the side of the road while you’re pulled over.
If you refuse to perform a chemical test at the station, your refusal will be used to impose stricture punishment by both the court and the DMV. The court may impose a lengthier jail sentence and the DMV will impose a lengthier suspension of your license, often extending the four month suspension of your license to twelve month. So, if you’re asked to perform a breathalyzer at the police station, you must do so.
When it comes to making statements to a police officer, you should not make them. You are only required to provide a police officer with your identification card/driver’s license, proof of insurance, and proof of auto registration. You are not required to provide them with anything else. Do not make statements to the police officers, even seemingly innocent statements can and will be used against you by the prosecution. So,
If you’re ever pulled over, provide the officer with the items we mentioned, and stay quiet. If you’re arrested, contact an experienced Los Angeles DUI Attorney at The H Law Group and they will assist you throughout the remainder of the process.
Contact an Experienced Los Angeles DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in Los Angeles, California or elsewhere in the State of California, you should immediately contact Los Angeles DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to represent you and fight for you to keep you out of jail. Our DUI lawyers have represent hundreds, if not thousands, of individuals charged with DUIs in California, so they are well-prepared and experienced when it comes to representing those charged with a DUI. Schedule your free consultation today with The H Law Group by filling out the contact for below or by calling us at (213) 370-0404.