Fullerton DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with or arrested for drunk driving or driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, or drugs in Fullerton, California, you should immediately contact Fullerton DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to defend you. Our DUI attorneys have the knowledge and experience to achieve the best possible results for you.
You should not DUI charges lightly as a conviction of even a first-time misdemeanor DUI can result in up to six months of county jail, as well as payment of a fine of up to $1,000. So, if you have been arrested for drunk driving, you should promptly contact a Fullerton DUI Lawyer at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license for a long period of time.
Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.
The H Law Group has successfully handled thousands of DUI cases, and some of our attorneys are former prosecutors, so they know how the justice system works and they will use that knowledge to defend you and achieve the best possible results for you.
California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a) VC & 23152(b) VC
In Fullerton, California, DUI charges are typically brought under VC 23152(a), which makes it unlawful to drive while under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, and/or drugs. VC 23152(b) makes it unlawful for a person to drive with a blood alcohol (BAC) level of 0.08% or more.
We understand that being charged with a DUI in California is a stressful experience because of how vigorously the State of California prosecutes DUI cases. Additionally, the City of Fullerton is located in Orange County, which is among the strictest counties when it comes to prosecution drunk driving and DUI cases.
So, to ensure the best possible outcome, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license.
The consequences of being convicted of a DUI are far-reaching and include the following potential penalties:
- Up to six months in county jail for a first-time offender
- A fine of up to $1,000
- Suspension of your driver’s license
- Completion of informal summary probation
- Enrollment in and completion of a DUI education program
Suspension of Your Driver’s License
If you have been arrested for drunk driving or driving under the influence of marijuana and/or drugs, the arresting officer may have confiscated your driver’s license and gave you a temporary pink license. This pink license is valid for 30 days from the date of your arrest.
After the 30-day period, your temporary license expires and your driver’s license will be suspended unless you schedule a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest and win the hearing. If you either fail to schedule the hearing or you lose at the hearing, your driver’s license will remain suspended pending the outcome of the criminal DUI case against you. If you win your case, your driver’s license will be reinstated. However, if you lose the hearing, your license will remain suspended for the prescribed period (usually six months for first-time offenders).
Also, you should be aware that if you refused chemical testing after you were arrested and taken to the police station or hospital, your refusal will be used against you by both the DMV and the prosecution. The DMV will increase the term of your suspension from six months to twelve months. So, if you’re ever arrested for a DUI, make sure to comply with an officer’s request to perform chemical testing.
That said, you should know that if you’re only stopped for suspicion of drunk driving, you have the right to refuse roadside tests, as well as roadside breathalyzers or chemical testing. If you have been drinking and driving, you should not perform these tests because the results will be used against you by both the DMV and the prosecution. However, if the police officer arrests you and takes you either to a hospital or the police station and requests that you perform a chemical test, you are legally required to comply with his request.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Fullerton, you should promptly contact a Fullerton DUI Defense Attorney to defend you and keep you from going to jail and losing your license. Our attorneys have defended thousands of persons charged with drunk driving, driving under the influence of drugs, and driving under the influence of marijuana, so they have the knowledge and experience to best defend you.
Fullerton DUI Defenses
If you have been charged with a DUI in Fullerton, CA, there are a number of defenses that your Fullerton DUI Lawyer can use to defend you. Please note that this list of defenses is not exhaustive of all of the defenses that your attorney can use, but rather a list of some of the defenses that may be available to you.
- Your attorney can challenge the accuracy of the results of field sobriety tests that you performed
- If an officer is introducing observations, such as the odor of alcohol, red bloodshot eyes, or a flushed face to prove that you’re under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, your attorney can argue that they were due to an innocent explanation, such as cold, allergies, eye irritation, and/or fatigue
- Your attorney can challenge the accuracy of the breath or blood alcohol testing
- Your attorney may argue that although you had consumed alcohol, you were not impaired at the time you were driving
- Your attorney can challenge the constitutionality of the stop. For example, he may argue that the stop and search were unconstitutional rendering any collected evidence inadmissible and therefore unusable against you
What Should You Do if You’re Pulled Over for a DUI in Fullerton?
If you’re ever pulled over for drinking and driving in the City of Fullerton or elsewhere in the State of California, you should not make any statements to the police officer. All you are required to do when you’re stopped is to provide the police officer your driver’s license, a copy of your automobile’s registration, as well as proof of insurance.
You should not make any statements, nor should you answer any of the police officer’s questions. Any statements can and probably will be used against you both by the police officer, as well as the prosecution. Also, you should be aware of the fact that you’re not required to perform any roadside sobriety tests, nor are you required to perform any chemical testing while you’re stopped on the side of the road.
That said, if you’re arrested and you’re taken to the police station, you must comply with a police officer’s request to perform chemical testing. If you refuse a chemical test after you’ve been arrested, both the DMV and the prosecution will use your refusal against you to enhance your punishment.
Fullerton DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in Fullerton, you should immediately contact an experienced DUI Attorney Fullerton to represent you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license. Initially, your attorney will assist you with representation at the DMV DUI hearing to help you obtain a restricted license that would allow you to commute to and from work and school.
After the DMV hearing, your attorney will represent you throughout the criminal process. If you hire The H Law Group, rest assured that your future is in great hands. Our attorneys have the knowledge and experience to achieve the best possible outcome for you. Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.