fbpx

24/7

Our Crime Line Hours

888.499.4948

Call Us For Free Consultation

Facebook

Search

Felony Hit and Run California

Felony Hit and Run California

We know that being involved in an accident or a collision is a scary thing, but California mandates that a person who is involved in a collision stop, render aid, and exchange information with the other party. A person who causes a collision and does not stop can be charged with felony hit and run in California if the defendant seriously injured or kills another person as a result of the collision.

Thousands of drivers every year are charged with felony hit and run charges for causing an accident and driving away without exchanging information or rendering aid to the other party involved. California Vehicle Code Section 20001 VC makes this type of behavior unlawful. If you have been charged with a felony hit and run, you should promptly contact an experienced felony hit and run defense attorney at The H Law Group to defend you.

Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.

Felony Hit and Run – California Vehicle Code Section 20001 VC

Under VC 20001, the prosecution usually brings felony hit and run charges against a person who is involved in an accident that seriously injures or kills another person and does not stop to render aid and exchange information. However, if the defendant is involved in an accident that does not cause a serious injury and only causes property damage, the prosecution can bring misdemeanor hit and run charges against the person.

If the defendant is convicted of misdemeanor hit and run charges, he faces up to 12 months in county jail, as well as payment of a fine of up to $10,000. However, if the defendant is convicted of felony hit and run charges, he faces up to four years in county jail, as well as a fine of up to $10,000.

So, if you have been charged with either misdemeanor or felony hit and run charges, you should immediately contact an experienced Los Angeles Hit and Run Defense Attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail for a very long time.

Our attorneys have the knowledge and experienced to achieve the best possible results for you. We have defended countless persons charged with hit and run and have been able to achieve successful results in most cases.

Text of California Felony Hit and Run Statute – VC 20001

“The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to a person, other than himself or herself, or in the death of a person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident and shall fulfill the requirements of Sections 20003 and 20004.

Except as provided in paragraph (2), a person who violates subdivision (a) shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

If the accident described in subdivision (a) results in death or permanent, serious injury, a person who violates subdivision (a) shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not less than 90 days nor more than one year, or by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine. However, the court, in the interests of justice and for reasons stated in the record, may reduce or eliminate the minimum imprisonment required by this paragraph.”

Note: To avoid legal repercussions, whenever you’re involved in an accident that results in property damage or injury to another person, you should stop your vehicle, call for assistance, and exchange information with the other party involved in the accident. If you fail to do these things, you may be charged with either misdemeanor hit and run or felony hit and run under CVC 20001.

When Must a Driver Stop to Avoid Being Charged with a Hit and Run in Violation of VC 20001?

Under California Vehicle Code 20001, for an individual to avoid being charged with and convicted of felony hit and run, an individual must stop his vehicle, render aid, and exchange information in the following situations:

  • Another person is injured or seriously injured
  • Another person dies as a result of the collision
  • The defendant causes property damage to another’s property
  • The defendant injures a person, animal, or any other type of property

Is Hit and Run a Felony or a Misdemeanor?

In California, hit and run under section 20001 VC is a wobbler, meaning the prosecution has the discretion to charge it as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the facts of your case. Most California hit and runs are charged as misdemeanors, however, if the defendant injures or kills another person, he can be charged with felony hit and run.

Penalties if You’re Convicted of Felony Hit and Run

If the prosecution convicts a person of hit and run charges in violation of Vehicle Code 20001, he or she faces the following potential consequences:

  • Up to four years imprisonment in county jail (minimum 90 days of jail)
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • Placement on formal felony probation for three years
  • Performance of community services
  • Addition of two (2) points to your DMV record
  • The potential loss of your driver’s license
  • The potential loss of your job or professional license
  • More costly insurance premiums

The consequences of being convicted of felony hit and run are far-reaching and can impact your future for years. To mitigate the potential consequences that you face, you should immediately contact an experienced hit and run defense attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail for a very long period of time.

Defenses for Felony Hit and Run in California

If you have been charged with a hit and run, there are a number of defenses that your attorney can make to defend you. Please note that the following list of defenses is not exhaustive of all the defendant that your attorney can use to defend you. Rather, it is a list of some of the available defenses that your attorney may use to defend you.

  • The defendant was not the driver of the vehicle at the time of the hit and run
  • The defendant stopped his vehicle and exchanged information with the other party to the collision
  • The defendant did not cause property damage, nor did he cause injury to another person’s property

Examples of a Hit and Run in California

  • A person hits your car and exits the freeway without stopping or exchanging his information with the other person
  • A drunk driver hits your car, causing you injury, and leaves the scene of the accident to avoid being caught driving under the influence

Contact an Experienced Hit and Run Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with a California Felony Hit and Run, you should immediately contact a hit and run defense attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail for a very long period of time. Our attorneys have represented countless individuals charged with felony hit and run offenses, so we have the knowledge and experience to best defend you. Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.