Fresno DUI Attorney

If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in Fresno, you should immediately contact an experienced Fresno DUI Attorney to represent you, keep you from going to jail, and losing your driver’s license. You should not take a DUI charge lightly as a DUI conviction can result in up to six months in county jail, the suspension of your driver’s license, and the payment of a fine of up to $1,000.

So, to avoid going to jail or losing your driver’s license for a long period of time, you should immediately contact an experienced Freson DUI Attorney to represent you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license for a very long period of time. Our attorneys have represented thousands of clients charged with DUIs, so they have the knowledge and experience necessary to achieve the best possible results for you.

Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol in Violation of California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a)

Vehicle Code 23152(a) VC makes it unlawful for a person to driving while under the influence of alcohol. Any person who drives a vehicle while he is intoxicated can be charged with a misdemeanor offense under VC 23152(a).

For the prosecutor to convict a person of a DUI, he must prove that the defendant drove a vehicle and the defendant did so while he was impaired. Impairment can be proved by showing that the defendant was not able to drive as would a sober person who has consumed no alcohol.

A person who has never been charged with a DUI is usually charged with a misdemeanor DUI offense. However, if a person was driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, and/or marijuana, and he injured a person, he can be charged with a felony DUI. Also, a fourth and subsequent DUI is charged as a felony offense.

Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Fresno

If the prosecution convicts a person of a DUI in Fresno, he faces the following potential penalties:

  • Conviction of a misdemeanor offense for first, second, and third DUI Offense
  • A fine of up to $1000
  • A 6-month suspension of your driver’s license for a first-time offense
  • Completion of a three-month DUI education program
  • Placement on summary probation

Note: DUI convictions are priorable, meaning the punishment becomes tougher and tougher with each subsequent offense. California has a ten-year lookback period where the prosecution looks back at how many DUIs a person has been convicted of in the past.

So, if you have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, and/or marijuana, you should immediately contact a Fresno DUI Attorney to represent you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver’s license.

Suspension of Your Driver’s License

When a person is arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Fresno, California, usually, the arresting officer confiscates the driver’s license and issues him a temporary pink driver’s license.

The temporary pink driver’s license is only good for 30 days from the date a person is arrested. After the 30-day period, the temporary driver’s license expires and your license will remain suspended pending the outcome of the criminal case against you.

For a person to keep his driver’s license past the 30-day period, he must schedule a DMV hearing within 10 days of his arrest and win at the DMV hearing. If the person either fails to schedule the DMV hearing within the 10-day window or loses at the DMV hearing, his driver’s license with remain suspended pending the outcome of the criminal case.

If you lose at the court, your driver’s license will remain suspended for the remainder of the six-month period. However, if you win at court, your driver’s license will be reinstated.

So, if you have been arrested for a DUI in Fresno, you should immediately contact an experienced Fresno DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to represent you and keep you from losing your driver’s license and going to jail. Our DUI attorneys will represent you at both the DMV hearing and the criminal court proceedings.

Fresno DUI Arrest

In Fresno, CA, a DUI Arrest usually begins with a police officer pulling over a person for making a minor traffic violation, such as speeding or running a red light. The officer will then proceed to investigate whether the person is driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, and/or drugs.

If the officer suspects that you’re under the influence, he may ask you to complete a number of field sobriety tests, as well as a breathalyzer test. You are not required to complete these tests and you should not perform them.

That said, if an officer later arrests you and takes you to the police station, you are required to submit to chemical testing at that point. So, if you’ve been taken to the police station and the police officer requests that you provide a urine or blood sample for testing, you should comply with the officer’s request.

Refusing to submit to chemical testing will be used against you by the DMV to impose a lengthier suspension of your driver’s license and by the courts to impose a lengthier jail sentence and stricter punishment.

Driving with a BAC Level of 0.08% or More in Violation of Vehicle Code Section 23152(b) VC

If you have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, you may have noticed that there is also a charge for driving with a BAC level of 0.08% or more. Unlike driving under the influence of alcohol where the prosecution must prove that you were impaired at the time you drove the vehicle, with a violation of VC 23152(b),  the prosecution need only show that you drove with a BAC level of 0.08% or more to convict you. Whether you’re convicted of violating VC 23152(a) or 23152(b), the consequences are the same.

Contact an Experienced Fresno DUI Attorney

If you have been charged with a DUI in Fresno, California, you should immediately contact an experienced Fresno DUI Attorney at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail. Our DUI attorneys have handled thousands of DUI cases, so they have the knowledge and experience necessary to achieve the best possible outcome for you. Schedule your free consultation today by filling out the contact form below or by calling us at 1 (213) 370-0404.

Charged with a Crime?


Act now to protect your legal rights.

Charged with a Crime?


Act now to protect your legal rights.